Language
  • Creating the Future

    The Hector Fellow Academy initiates innovative research projects on latest scientific problems.

  • Hector Fellows

    Distinguished researchers in STEM fields.

    more

Objectives and Scope of the Funding

Since 2020, the Hector Fellow Academy offers the opportunity to apply for the Hector Research Career Development Award (Hector RCD Award). W1 assistant professors (with or without Tenure Track) and junior research group leaders in similar positions in natural or engineering sciences, medicine or psychology who work at German universities or research institutions are encouraged in further strengthening their independent research.

The Award is endowed with 25,000 € and includes, among others, additional funding for one doctoral position. It is awarded annually to 3-5 scientists. At least 50% of the awards each year are reserved for female scientists.

The Hector Fellow Academy is pursuing the following goals with the Hector RCD Award:

  • Active promotion of researchers on their way to a professorship
  • Expansion of the scientific life within the HFA
  • Increasing the number of female scientists in the HFA
  • Building new opportunities for cooperation between Hector Fellows and the Awardees

The researchers honored with the Award will be accepted for five years as members of the network of top scientists of the Hector Fellow Academy, which is composed of Hector Science Award winners and excellent young researchers. This membership entitles the Award winners to submit applications for further funding formats, e.g. for the organization of workshops/conferences or the presentation of a Speakers Award.

• Die Zukunft mitgestalten

    Die Hector Fellow Academy stößt innovative Forschungsprojekte in neuen wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen an.

  • Hector Fellows

    Ausgezeichnete SpitzenforscherInnen aus den MINT-Fächern

    weiter

Ziele und Förderumfang

Seit 2020 gibt es an der Hector Fellow Academy die Möglichkeit, sich für den Hector Research Career Development Award (Hector RCD Award) zu bewerben. W1-ProfessorInnen (mit oder ohne Tenure Track) und NachwuchsgruppenleiterInnen in vergleichbaren Positionen der Natur- oder Ingenieurwissenschaften, der Medizin oder Psychologie, die an deutschen Universitäten oder Forschungseinrichtungen tätig sind, sollen darin unterstützt werden, ihre eigenständige Forschung weiter zu stärken.

Der Award ist mit 25.000 € dotiert und beinhaltet unter anderem zusätzliche Fördergelder für eine Promotionsstelle. Er wird jährlich an 3-5 WissenschaftlerInnen verliehen. Mindestens 50% der Auszeichnungen pro Jahr sind Wissenschaftlerinnen vorbehalten.

Die Hector Fellow Academy verfolgt mit dem Hector RCD Award folgende Ziele:

  • aktive Förderung von ForscherInnen auf dem Weg zu einer Professur
  • Erweiterung des wissenschaftlichen Austauschs innerhalb der HFA
  • Erhöhung des Frauenanteils in der HFA
  • Schaffung neuer Kooperationsmöglichkeiten zwischen Hector Fellows und den PreisträgerInnen

Die mit dem Award ausgezeichneten ForscherInnen werden für fünf Jahre als Mitglied in das Netzwerk aus Top-WissenschaftlerInnen der Hector Fellow Academy aufgenommen, das sich aus Hector WissenschaftspreisträgerInnen und exzellenten NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen zusammensetzt. Diese Mitgliedschaft berechtigt die PreisträgerInnen dazu, Anträge für weitere Förderformate einzureichen, z.B. für die Organisation von Workshops/Konferenzen oder die Vergabe eines Speakers Awards.